Table of State Laws

Here is a list of the statutes of limitations in all the states. These are the ones that apply to the most common dog bite cases, meaning the cases against people who own dogs and are liable because of negligence, statutory liability, and the one bite rule. There are a few things that are more complicated and require the assistance of a lawyer:

  • Claims against the government
  • Claims by injured children
  • Claims based on less common causes of action (for example, battery or intentional injury)
STATE STATUTE YEARS
ALABAMA Ala. Code § 6-2-38 2
ALASKA Alaska Stat. § 09.10.010 et. seq.* 2
ARIZONA Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 12-541 et. seq. 1 or 2**
ARKANSAS Ark. Code Ann. § 16-56-101 et. seq. 3
CALIFORNIA Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 335.1 2
COLORADO Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-80-102 et. seq. 2***
CONNECTICUT Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 52-577 (dog bite statute) or 52-584 (negligence, etc.) 2 or 3 ****
DELAWARE Del. Code Ann. tit. 10, § 8101 et. seq. 2
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA D.C. Code § 12-301 et. seq. 3
FLORIDA Fla. Stat. Ann. § 95.011 et. seq. (95.011(3)(a) for bodily injuries; see Title VII) 4
GEORGIA Ga. Code Ann. § 9-3-20 et. seq. 2
HAWAII Haw. Rev. Stat. § 657-1 et. seq. 2
IDAHO Idaho Code § 5-201 et. seq. 2
ILLINOIS 735 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/13-201 et. seq. 2
INDIANA Ind. Code Ann. § 34-11-2-1 et. seq. 2
IOWA Iowa Code Ann. § 614.1 et. seq. 2
KANSAS Kan. Stat. Ann. § 60-501 et. seq. 2
KENTUCKY Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 413.140 1
LOUISIANA La. Civil Code § 3492 et. seq. 1
MAINE Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14, § 751 et. seq. 6
MARYLAND Md. Courts & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. § 5-101 et. seq. 3
MASSACHUSETTS Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 260, § 1 et. seq. 3
MICHIGAN Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5801 et. seq. 3
MINNESOTA Minn. Stat. Ann. § 541.01 et. seq. 6
MISSISSIPPI Miss. Code. Ann. § 15-1-49 3
MISSOURI Mo. Rev. Stat. § 516.097 et. seq. 5
MONTANA Mont. Code Ann. § 27-2-2021 et. seq. 3
NEBRASKA Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-201 et. seq. 4
NEVADA Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 11.010 et. seq. 2
NEW HAMPSHIRE N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 508:1 et. seq. 3
NEW JERSEY N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2a:14-2 et. seq. 2
NEW MEXICO N.M. Stat. Ann. § 37-1-1 et. seq. 3
NEW YORK N.Y. Civ. Prac. Laws & Rules § 201 et. seq. 3
NORTH CAROLINA N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1-46 et. seq. 3
NORTH DAKOTA N.D. Cent. Code § 28-01-01 et. seq. 6
OHIO Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2305.07 2 or 6*****
OKLAHOMA Okla. Stat. Ann. 12-95(A)(3) 2
OREGON Or. Rev. Stat. § 12.010 et. seq. 2
PENNSYLVANIA 42 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 5501 et. seq. 2
RHODE ISLAND R. I. Gen. Laws § 9-1-12 et. seq. 3
SOUTH CAROLINA S.C. Code Ann. § 15-3-510 et. seq. 3
SOUTH DAKOTA S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 15-2-1 et. seq. 3
TENNESSEE Tenn. Code Ann. § 28-1-101 et. seq., 28-3-101 et. seq. 1
TEXAS Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 16.001 et. seq. 2
UTAH Utah Code Ann. § 78-12-22 et. seq. 4
VERMONT Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 12, § 506 et. seq. 3
VIRGINIA Va. Code Ann. § 8.01-228 et. seq. 2
WASHINGTON Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 4.16.005 et. seq. 3
WEST VIRGINIA W. Va. Code § 55-2-6 et. seq. 2
WISCONSIN Wis. Stat. Ann. § 893.01 et. seq. 3
WYOMING Wyo. Stat. § 1-3-102 et. seq. 4
* et. seq. means “and the next sections following in sequence”.

** Arizona: 1 year if based on dog bite statute, otherwise 2.

*** Colorado: 3 years if motor vehicle injury.

**** Connecticut: 3 years if based on dog bite statute, otherwise 2.

***** Ohio: 6 years if based on dog bite statute, otherwise 2.